English Parts Of Speech - find out more

There are eight English parts of speech. They form the core of every sentence we speak or write.

Understanding them enables you to write and speak speeches with confidence and grammatically correct.

The eight English parts of speech are:

1) Noun - names a person, place, or thing eg. pirate, Caribbean, ship

2) Pronoun - takes the place of a noun eg. I, you, he, she, it, ours, them, who

3) Verb - identifies action or state of being eg. sing, dance, believe, be

4) Adjective - modifies a noun eg. hot, lazy, funny

5) Adverb - modifies a verb, adjective, or other adverb eg. softly, lazily, often

6) Preposition - shows a relationship between a noun (or pronoun) and other words in a sentence eg. up, over, against, by, for

7) Conjunction - joins words, phrases, and clauses eg. and, but, or, yet

8) Interjection expresses emotion eg. ah, whoops, ouch

The key to using the English parts of speech is to ensure that sentences are constructed following the basic rules of English.

A sentence is a group of words that makes sense on its own.

Eg: Bob went to the shops.

A sentence always has a subject (eg ‘Bob’) and a verb (‘went’).

‘To the shops’ is not a sentence, because it does not give enough information. You need to know who (subject) did what (verb).

A sentence always starts with a capital letter and ends with a full stop (.), question mark (?) or exclamation mark (!).

For example: • The cat ate the food. (a fact or statement) • Do you want more? (a question) • You must go! (a command or shout)

It is important these English parts of speech are understood to create perfect sentences.

Search the web for more 'english parts of speech':


Custom Search

Return To The Speech Preparation Planning Page